Mawa Strikes Late As Uganda Qualify To AFCON U17

Sunday, December 20
*Uganda 1-0 Djibouti

Oscar Mawa scored a late goal to send Uganda into the AFCON U17 Championship due next year in March.

Mawa slid a first time shot below an onrushing keeper off to break a resilient Djibouti in the 90th minute.

Uganda had missed chances with Express Junior Striker Hassan Mubiru, Travis Mutyaba and Mawa all coming close.

The 1-0 semifinal victory also means that Uganda have stormed the finals of the ongoing Cecafa U17 Championship.

The side will wait on the winner between Ethiopia and Tanzania in the other semifinal.

Uganda played at AFCON U17 in 2019 for the first time, finishing third in group A in a Tourney hosted in Tanzania.

In Morocco, the top four teams of the tournament will qualify for the 2021 FIFA U-17 World Cup in Peru as the CAF representatives.

Uganda Cubs

Mawa The Hero, Again

Uganda started with a 5-0 win over Kenya thanks to an hat-trick from Mawa.

The KCCA FC JT forward later bagged a brace to inspire Uganda past Ethiopia.

Djibouti knew what awaited them in the semifinal and closed out Uganda’s striker.

And you cannot blame them for playing in their own half right from start, as it nearly paid off.

Uganda asked questions but the opponents had answers, and it needed Mawa’s timely shot, when put through on goal, after he intelligently sensed that the keeper was hurtling out.

Uganda Cubs players

Mutyaba had Uganda’s best chance, sending a header at close range direct into the keeper’s hand.

The keeper also sent Mudiba’s powerful shot out for a corner before he was forced into a low save by Mubiru.

Mutyaba was later given space in the box but panicked and ended up sending his awkward effort off the mark.

Djibouti’s threatening chance arrived late in the second half when Soultan Soultan raced down the left flank before his effort was denied at near post by Henry Mwebe.

Uganda Cubs Starting XI – Henry Mwebe, Vincent Mulema, Juma Ibrahim, Ronald Madoi, Peter Gava, Ivan Irinimbazi, Samuel Madiba, Travis Mutyaba, Oscar Mawa, Issa Bugembe, Elvis Mwanje

Substitutes – Abdu Magada, Humphrey Shafic Magogo, Shugai Kaliisa, Basil Tuma, Fahad Jumbe, Hassan Mubiru, Enock Luyima



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *