Mckinstry Names Foreign-based Squad For South Sudan

November 9, 2020
*Uganda Cranes Vs South Sudan

November 17, 2020
*South Sudan Vs Uganda Cranes

Uganda Cranes coach Jonathan Mckinstry has named the squad that will face South Sudan in an AFCON Qualifiers double-header next month.

The team summoned consists of 20 foreign-based players, with about five or six from the local legion to be summoned at a later date.

Mckinstry, during a press conference in Mengo has said that the Uganda Premier League players will be added to the final squad following further assessment of their current preparedness by the national team technical staff.

Derrick Nsibambi makes a return to the fold while Uche Ipeazu gets his debut call.

The summoning of players comes about a week after the Cranes returned from a five-day training camp in Dubai.

However, three players from the Dubai camp have missed out, that is Jayden Onen, Allan Kateregga and Bevis Mugabi, the later pulling out after suffering a shoulder injury with his Scottish Club Motherwell.

Three players from Isreal (Timothy Awany, Kizito Luwagga and Fahad Bayo) and USA-based Mike Azira have made the squad despite missing the camp in Dubai due to travel restrictions then. Mckinstry has expressed certainty about their travels to Uganda.

The Uganda Cranes – South Sudan doubleheader and all other matchdays 3 and 4 games in other groups were scheduled for March 2020 but later postponed due to Covid19 pandemic.

On 19 August 2020, CAF announced the new dates of the remaining qualifiers, with matchdays 3 and 4 rescheduled to be played between 9–17 November 2020, and matchdays 5 and 6 rescheduled to be played between 22 and 30 March 2021.

On 30 June 2020, the CAF announced the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations final tournament had been postponed from January 2021 to January 2022.

Uganda Cranes have collected four points from their two games in Group B, which includes a draw away to Burkina Faso and a home win to Malawi at Namboole.

Uganda are targeting a third straight return to AFCON finals after appearing at 2017 and 2019 in Gabon and Egypt respectively.

The Squad of Foreign Based Players


Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Jamal Salim (Al Hilal, Sudan)


Ronald Mukiibi (Ostersunds FK, Sweden), Nico Wakiro Wadada (Azam, Tanzania), Timothy Denis Awany (Ironi Ashdod, Israel), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe, Democratic Republic of Congo), Alex Kakuba (CD Cova, Portugal), Elvis Bwomono (Southend, England)


Michael Azira (Chicago Fire, USA), Khalid Aucho (Misr Lel Makasa, Egypt), Allan Kyambadde (El Gouna, Egypt), Allan Okello (Paradou, Algeria)


Derrick Nsibambi (Smouha, Egypt), Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (Ittihad Alexandria, Egypt), Alexis Bbakka (Carlstad United BK, Sweden), Fahad Bayo (Ironi Ashdod, Israel), Farouk Miya (Konyaspor, Turkey), William Kizito Luwagga (Hapoel, Israel), Uche Ikpeazu (Wycombe, England), Edirisa Lubega (Paide Linnameeskond, Estonia)

The Results So Far:

*November 13, 2019

  • Malawi 1-0 South Sudan
  • Burkina Faso 0-0 Uganda

*November 17, 2019

  • Uganda 2-0 Malawi
  • South Sudan 1-2 Burkina Faso

The Table Standings

2Burkina Faso211021+14
4South Sudan200213−20



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *