Francis Kimanzi Leaves Role as Kenya Harambee Stars Coach

Football Kenya Federation has confirmed the departure of Harambee Stars head coach Francis Kimanzi.

The statement from FKF General Secretary Barry Otieno states that Kimanzi has left on “mutual consent.”

Kimanzi leaves with his backroom staff that include Assistant coach Zedakiah Otieno and goalkeeping coach Lawrence Webo.

Kimanzi was appointed as the head coach of Harambee Stars on August 17, 2019.

He replaced Sebastien Migne, who also left the position on mutual consent.

Kimanzi, formerly at Mathare United, was at the helm as Kenya played at the 2019 CECAFA Championship in Kampala last year.

This was his second stint as the head coach of Kenya Harambee stars, a position he held way back in 2008.

Kenya are in Group G of the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualification tournament alongside Comoros, Egypt and Togo.

The departure comes as a shock for Kenya who will be facing Comoros in a double header next month.

Kimanzi’s last game was a 2-1 friendly win over Micho’s Zambia on November 9th at Nyayo stadium with Cliff Nyekeya and an own goal from Tandi Mwape handing Harambee Stars a controversial win after Zambia’s goal was wrongly ruled out.

Kimanzi, who played for Mathare United (1994-2002), has had spells with Harambee stars on various occasions.

He was first appointed as a manager of the Kenyan national side on 11 December 2008 having held the post as a caretaker since May 2008.

He was sacked in January 2009 before he was reappointed as head coach of the Kenyan national team in November 2011.

He was sacked again in June 2012 alongside his entire coaching staff after the side failed to qualify for the 2013 African Nations Cup.

Kimanzi was again appointed to the Kenyan national team in August 2019.

Kenya Harambee Stars Coaches Since 2010

*Twahir Muhiddin (2009–10)
*Jacob “Ghost” Mulee (2010)
*Zedekiah Otieno (2010–11, caretaker)
*Francis Kimanzi (2011–12)
*Henri Michel (2012)
*James Nandwa (2012–13, caretaker)
*Adel Amrouche (2013–14)
*Bobby Williamson (2014–16)
*Stanley Okumbi (2016–17)
*Paul Put (2017–2018)
*Stanley Okumbi (2018)
*Sebastien Migne (2018–2019)
*Francis Kimanzi (2019–2020)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *