CECAFA Confirms Dates, Countries For AFCON U17 And U20 Qualifiers

CECAFA, a football organizing body in Central and East Africa, has revealed the dates for both AFCON U17 and U20 Qualifies.

In a year where most football tournaments were canceled due to Covid19 pandemic, CECAFA, after an Executive meeting that sat on October 10, has decided to go on with the two tournaments.

CECAFA has also revealed the countries that have confirmed participation for the two tourneys.


  • AFCON U20 Qualifiers: 22nd November – 6th December 2020 in Tanzania
  • AFCON U17 Qualifiers: 13th December – 28th December 2020 in Rwanda

The two Qualifier Tournaments will feature 10 teams which will be in two pools.

After the pool stages, the top two teams will proceed to the semifinals, Cecafa has announced.

The CECAFA Secretariat has added that they will announce the dates for the draw of the Tournament.

“CECAFA is well aware of the restrictions in different member countries as far as social gatherings, travel and medical preparedness is concerned,” CECAFA has said in a statement.

“The host countries should therefore give the necessary assurances to the participating teams on their wellbeing and precautions around COVID – 19.

“Further note that all participating teams will be responsible for their respective countries requirements including COVID – 19 testing and other protocols required by their governments prior to departure back to their home countries after the Tournament.”

Countries to take part:

*AFCON U17 Qualifiers – Rwanda, Burundi, Tanzania, Uganda, South Sudan, Sudan, Eritrea, Djibouti, Ethiopia and Kenya.

*AFCON U20 Qualifiers – Somalia, Burundi, Tanzania, Uganda, South Sudan, Sudan, Eritrea, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *