Three New UK-Based Players In Uganda Cranes’ Squad To Face South Sudan

Three new UK-based players have been included in the Uganda Cranes squad to face South Sudan in the double header of group B of the 2021 AFCON Qualifiers.

Elvis Okello Bwomono (South End), Onen Hayden (Brentford) and Karl Anthony Uchechukwu Mubiru Ikpeazu (Hearts) have been included in the squad.

Uganda will host South Sudan at Mandela National Stadium, Namboole on March 28 before visiting the side on March 31 at Al-Hilal stadium in Khartoum, Sudan.

Coach Jonathan Mckinstry revealed the squad on Thursday during a press briefing at FUFA House in Mengo.

Also Read – All Set For FUBA Awards

Mckinstry named a 20-man squad of foreign based players, with five UPL players later to be added to make it 25.

Farouk Miya and Luwagga Kizito are out injured while Murushid Juuko, Patrick Kaddu and Isaac Muleme have been ignored.

Alexis Bakka and Abdul Lumala have been cleared to play at home for the first time after missing the Namboole game against Malawi.

Goalkeeper Salim Jamal Magoola returns to the fold after recent disciplinary proceedings with FUFA while ‘partner in crime’ Allan Kateregga has not been summoned.

Uganda lead Group B with four points after two games: The side registered a 0-0 draw away with Burkina Faso earning a 2-0 victory over Malawi in the second game at Namboole.

The game at Namboole will be officiated by referee Messie Jessie Oved and assisted by Styven Danek and Jospin Luckner of the Central African Republic. Lazard Tsiba is the fourth official as the match commissioner is Michel Gasingwa.

Related – Mckinstry Confident In new Players

The 20-man Squad

Goalkeepers: Dennis Masinde Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Salim Jamal Magoola (Al Hilal, Sudan)

Defenders: Nico Wakiro Wadada (Azam FC, Tanzania), Elvis Okello Bwomono (South End, England), Joseph Benson Ochaya (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Ronald Mukiibi (Östersunds FK Sweden) , Timothy Awany ( F.C. Ashdod, Israel), Brevis Mugabi (Motherwell FC, Scotland).

Midfielders: Mike Azira (Chicago Fire, US), Jayden Onen (Brentford B, England), Taddeo Lwanga (Tanta FC, Egypt), Aucho Khalid (Misr el Makkasa SC), Allan Okello (Paradou AC, Algeria), Moses Waiswa (Super Sport United FC, South Africa)

Forwards: Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (Al Ittihad Alexandria, Egypt), Abdu Lumala (Pyramids FC, Egypt), Allan Kyambadde (El Gouna, Egypt), Alexis Bakka (UMEA FC), Sweden, Karl Anthony Uchechukwu Mubiru Ikpeazu (Heart of Midlothian FC)

The Group B Log

PosTeam[  ]PldWDLGFGAGDPtsQualification
1 Uganda211020+24Qualify for final tournament9 Jun2–023 Mar
2 Burkina Faso211021+140–023 Mar8 Sep
3 Malawi210112−138 Sep31 Mar1–0
4 South Sudan200213−2031 Mar1–29 Jun



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.