UPL: Ten-man Busoga Hold On For Win Over Wakiso

Busoga edged Wakiso Giants

Tuesday, Feburary 25
*Busoga United 1-0 Wakiso Giants

Ten-man Busoga United beat Wakiso Giants for their fifth straight home win at the Mighty Arena in Jinja.

Sharif Kimbowa scored for the hosts in the 15th minute after he was put through by David Bagoole to slot past Derrick Emukule.

Busoga were made to toil for the win when their captain George Kasonko was sent off in the 68th minute after receiving a second booking.

Lawrence Tezikya would have scored for the hosts in the early minutes of the game but his header off a well delivered Bagoole assist went just over the bar.

Team captains before kick-off. Busoga United media photo

Man of the Match Bagoole had two attempts on goal but unlucky not to be on the score-sheet.

Busoga’s Franco Onen had his long range strike denied by the woodwork before Isma Mugulusi’s effort on goal went inches wide.

On the other hand, visitors Wakiso produced a highly contested game on the evening and will feel hard done to leave Jinja empty handed.

The Purple Sharks suffered a huge blow when in the 11th minute when their star man Viane Ssekajugo was forced to come off for Tom Masiko.

Goalkeeper Derrick Emukule, playing with a head injury, stood firm to deny David Bagoole and Onen.

Amos Muwonge and Karim Ndugwa had their efforts denied by goalkeeper Ali Kimera as Wakiso kept on keeping the pressure.

Gaddaffi Wahab had his strike go over the bar before Karim Ndugwa late strike went out inches wide forcing goalkeeper Ali kimera into a stretchm

Visitors Wakiso Giants remain winless in the last two games.

Busoga United after 24 games played, are still fifth on the log with 39 points.

The jinja based team will be hosting Kyetume FC on match-day 25 at the Mighty arena.

Wakiso Giants FC remain 10th on the StarTimesUPL table with 29 points and will be eager to win on match-day 25 when they host Vipers SC.

Read – Anukani Scores Twice For Proline

Lineups Used

Busoga United: Ali Kimera (GK), Abubaker Otawo, Hakim Magombe, Shafiq Kakeeto, Kenneth Ssemakula, Nelson Mandela, Gorge Kasonko, David Bagoole, Lawerence Tezikya, Sharif Kimboowa, Franco Onen

Wakiso Giants: Derrick Emukule (GK), Geriga Atendele, Alex Komakech, Hassan Wasswa Dazo, Swaib Mudde, Gadaffi Wahab, Ibrahim Faizal, Hassan Ssenyonjo, Geofrey Sserunkuma, Viane Ssekajugo, Amos Muwonge



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *