Uganda Cup: Villa Prevail Over Resolute Kajjansi

Sunday, February 16
*Kajjansi United 0-1 SC Villa

SC Villa laboured to a 1-0 victory against Regional league side Kajjansi United in the Uganda Cup round of 32 game at Wankulukuku.

Ronald Magwali’s header was the difference as the nine time winners wobbled to the round of 16.

The defeat ends the potters run as the Buganda regional club had knocked out neighbors Vipers at round of 64.

Villa had been ousted by regional league sides Nkambi Coffee (2019) and Kiboga Young (2018) at the last two seasons.

Magwali headed in from a well weighed Fred Agandu’s cross at the half hour mark, and the visitors held on until the final whistle.

The hosts were determined and managed to connect with their fans who were unwavering from onset.

Saidi Keni denied Michael Male’s powerful shot from a run of play, Michael Lutaaya’s freekick went over the bar.

Kajjansi’s other best chance saw Umar Kayemba heads just over the crossbar from close range after a beautiful cross by Edward Mubiru, a reminiscent of Villa’s goal.

Male also came cross but headed direct into the safe hands of Keni.

Kazibwe Simon Leah and Henry Kawuma came on in the second half, added more spice together with the tricky Marvin Nyanzi and Umar Kayemba but failed to find the back of the net.

Villa, nine time winners, had a strong lineup but were made to dig deep on the day.

David Owori had the first chance but fired wide, and his other crosses from the right wing were utterly poor.

Nicholas Kabonge raced on Emmanuel Wasswa’s through ball but was denied by Yusuf Nfumu.

Benson Muhindo, who came on for Kabonge, almost made an impact but was denied low by Nfumu. The forward who scored a winner against Proline, later drove his effort, from a loose ball with a keeper beaten.

Villa joins other favourites URA FC and KCCA FC among other UPL sides remaining in the competition.

Teams Used

Kajjansi United XI – Yusuf Nfumu, Edward Mubiru, Mike Kyeyune, Rashid Ssemwogerere, Ashraf Mbazira, Ronald Kizito, Umar Kayemba, Edgar Luzige, Mike Lutaaya, Marvin Nyanzi, Michael Male

Substitutes – Joe Sserunjogi, Joseph Shisha, Mark Kisenyi, Henry Kawuma, Isaac Balyejusa, Nicholas Ssepuuya, Simon Kazibwe

SC Villa XI – Saidi Keni, Fred Agandu, Derrick Ndahiro, Moses Kiggundu, Harishe Asuman, Amir Kakomo, David Owori, Alex Wasswa, Ronald Magwali, Ambrose Kirya, Nicholas Kabonge.

Substitutes – Samson Kirya, Ibrahim Kibumba, Yayo Lutimba, Salim Abdallah, Benson Muhindo, Faisal Muwawu, Fahad Badiro



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *