Saidi Kyeyune Tears Net In URA, Kyetume Draw

saidi Kyeyune (middle) had his shot break the net. URA FC photo (cropped).

Saturday, February 8
*Kyetume 1-1 URA

Saidi Kyeyune scored a thunderous equaliser as URA FC and Kyetume FC played a 1-1 draw in a league game at the Mighty Arena in Jinja.

His shot, taken from outside the box after gathering from captain Shafic Kagimu in the 73rd minute, not only managed to go past keeper Joel Mutakubwa, but also forced the net to loose its grip from the woodwork!

The rare scenes necessitated a two-minute break as the officials tried to sew the net back to the woodwork.

Whether the goal nets were in perfect conditions, will be a debate for another day.

The heavy-hitter has now scored five league goals for the tax collectors this season.

Also Read – How Villa battled back to dent Proline

Kyetume FC (red) and URA FC played out a 1-1 draw in Jinja. URA FC

Robert Ssentongo, who scored the lone winner against Proline at Lugogo, had put the hosts in an early lead.

The Veteran striker scored from the spot after Patrick Mbowa was judged to have handled the ball in the box.

After going a goal down, URA FC pressurized the Slaughters with Joachim Ojera firing just wide at the half hour mark.

Mutakubwa denied Michael Birungi later on and later put out Mikidad Ssenyonga’s header in the 60th minute as Kyetume lived on borrowed time.

Rwothomio Cromwell, league player of January, headed out Ojera’s delivery as another big chance by the visitors went begging.

This was the first game for Kyetume since adding coach Alex Isabirye to their technical bench and a point lifts the side out of the red zone as Police FC falls into the pit.

Bottom Six

  1. Express FC – 24
  2. Bright Stars – 23
  3. Kyetume – 23
  4. Police 22
  5. Tooro 19
  6. Proline 15

Next for URA FC is a Uganda Cup game against Nyamityobora before league games against Vipers and Express FC.

Kyetume host Kigezi Homeboyz in Uganda Cup ahead of a home league game with Mbarara City FC.

Teams Used

Kyetume FC – Joel Mutakubwa, Benon Tahomera, Emanuel Obua, Charles Musoke, Jonathan Mugabi, Julius Lule, Rahmatah Kagimu, Denis Lubowa, Feni Ali, Robert Ssentongo, Dan Birikwalira.

URA FC – Alionzi Nafian, Ashraf Mandela, Brian Majwega, Patrick Mbowa, Benjamin Nyakoojo, Ivan Sserubiri, Joachim Ojera, Saidi Kyeyune, Cromwell Rwothomio, Shafic Kagimu, Michael Birungi



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *