Uganda Cup: Express Beat St Mary’s Nabweru

Galiwango was on target as Express beat St Mary’s Nabweru

Sunday, January 26

*St Marys FC 0-3 Express FC
*Gadafi FC (1) 0-0 (3) MYDA FC
*Luwero United FC (4) 0-0 (1) Doves All stars FC
*Kigezi FC 0-1 Bukedea TC FC
*Spartans FC 1-0 Paidha Black Angels FC
*U-touch FC (4) 0-0 (5) Water FC
*Kampala University FC 0-1 Kataka FC

Express FC eased past lower regional league team St Mary’s Nabweru in a commanding 3-0 victory in a Uganda Cup round of 64 game at Wankulukuku.

Frank Ssenyondo, Dissan Galiwango and Doka Mweru scored for the Red Eagles who have won the competition a record 10 times.

St Mary’s opted to take the match at Wankulukuku and the decision worked for George Ssimwogerere’s side.

Ssenyondo showed quality to put Express in the lead when he calmly chested down a long ball from Frank Kalanda, beat his man in the area before booting an effort into the net at close range.

Galiwango doubled the advantage four minutes later when he completed his run down the left flank with a low fierce shot at the far left corner of goalkeeper Shafic Katumba.

Express put the game to bed with a third, courtesy of Doka who slotted home from a beautiful run of play.

Ssenyondo had a chance to make it four but he was hard done by his height, failing to head down Galiwango’s well taken cross.

Nabweru looked solid at the start but were later ran over by a ruthless Express team in a one sided affair.

The school-affiliated side’s best chance saw Wour Diu’s powerful header easily collected by Mathias Muwanga while Ismail Ssebandeke fired over the bar.

Express who were knocked out by Bright Stars at the semis last season will fancy another good run as the league seems to be out of their reach.

Less will be read from the performance against a naive Nabweru side, but it will give them confidence going into their next games including a crucial Wednesday tie against SC Villa on the road.

Read – Police FC Ousted

Teams Used:

Shafic Katumba, Ismail Ssebandeke, Rogers Kiwanuka, Bosco Dakitali, Arafat Muyingo, Ismael Bugembe, Yahafa Huzaifa, Bernard Akera, Nicholas Kiyingi, Arafah Mulindwa, Wour Diu Gony

Express FC – Mathias Muwanga, Yiga Muhammad, Andrew Kiwanuka, Martin Kizza, David Kakeeto, Lawrence Kigonya, Frank Ssenyondo, Daniel Shabena, Frank Kalanda, Doka Mweru, Dissan Galiwango



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.