Aliro, Revita Maiden Goals Send KCCA To Next Round

Revita and Aliro scored for KCCA. Courtesy

Friday Results
Catda FC 0-2 KCCA FC
Lugazi Municipal FC 0-4 URA FC
Free Stars FC 2-0 Saviours FC
Fire Fire FC 0-1 Light SS FC
FHL FC (4) 0-0 (1) Ndejje University FC
Mvara Boys FC (4) 1-1 (2) Bul FC
Chimpanzee FC (0) 2-2 (3) Nyamityobora FC
Soroti FC 0-4 Kansai Plascon FC

KCCA FC managed to overcome regional league side Catda FC in a Uganda Cup round of 64 played at Lugogo.

Centre back John Revita and a debut goal for new signing Moses Aliro take the headlines for KCCA who reach round of 32 with a 2-0 win.

Revita headed in Mustafa Kizza’s delivery at the half-hour mark before Aliro who signed a five-year contract for the Lugogo team, doubled the advantage.

Also Read – Nakirijja Leaves JKL Lady Dolphins

CATDA had a strong start, pressing the ten-time winners and would have scored early in the game but Ronald Ssekiganda’s strike was kept out by Peter Magambo.

KCCA FC regained composure and started to grow into the game. Herbert Achai had his powerful shot kept away by Ibrahim Banalya while Sadat Anaku off Mustafa Kizza cross go an inch wide.

At the 30th minute mark, KCCA went ahead thanks to Revita’s glancing header from a well weighed Mustafa cross.

KCCA, visitors at Lugogo, would have had their lead doubled but Achai was denied before the end of the first stanza.

CATDA were dominant in the second half but failed to take advantage: Ivan Mayanja and Dennis Ola were presented with chances but both failed to beat Charles Lukwago in goal.

Anaku almost put the game to bed only to be denied by the post before Julius Poloto header hit Keeper Ibrahim Banalya.

Debutant Aliro doubled KCCA, ending Catida’s hopes of a comeback, with an 88th minute strike after he was set up by Erisa Ssekisambu.

Team Starters

CATDA FC: Ibrah Banalya (Gk), David Ssegawa, Brian Kasule, Mike Kintu, Ahmed Ndawula, Ronald Ssekiganda, Dennis Ola, Derrick Walugembe, Ivan Mayanja, Alex Mawanda, James Ssenabulya

KCCA FC: Charles Lukwago (Gk), Moses Aliro, Peter Magambo, John Revita, Mustafa Kizza, Nicholas Kasozi, Steven Sserwadda, Herbert Achai, Julius Poloto, Sadat Anaku, Mike Mutyaba



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *