City Oilers Overcome UCU To Win Record Seventh Championship

City Oilers beat UCU 4-3 to win seventh championship. FUBA

Sunday, January 19
*UCU Canons 56-72 City Oilers
(Oilers win 4-3)

So close yet so far for UCU Canons, like all the other past beaten finalists in the other six years. Oilers legacy leaves on. And who can stop them if Nicholas Natuhereza’s young Canons fumbled down the stretch?

UCU were on brink of glory, and Landry happened.

City Oilers edged UCU Canons in a thrilling game seven to take a record straight seventh National Basketball League championship.

Check – NBL Finals News

Coached by Mandy Juruni, the Oilers who have now won the league one more than six time winners Falcons, had their record chase under threat when UCU recovered from 3-1 to knot the series at 3-3.

Landry Ndikumana led the way with a game high 26 points and 11 rebounds before Jimmy Enabu (16) and James Okello (14) combined for 30 points.

David Deng Kongor and Titus Lual had 21 and 13 points respectively for the Canons in a losing effort.

With the indoor Arena fully packed about two hours before tip-off, the defending champions set the tone with a 17-9 lead after the first quarter.

The Canons, who came into the playoffs as number one seeding, proved that they were not going down without a fight when Titus Lual scored 11 points for UCU to trail by just a point, 26-27 at halftime.

Isaiah Mabeny Ateer’s three-pointer at 7:36 in the third quarter tied the game before David Deng Kongor laid up to give UCU a lead.

It remained a back and forth exchange before the Oilers broke away to take an eight-point lead into the last quarter and never looked back.

The Past Winners

1996: Power
1997: Charging Rhino
1998: Falcons
1999: Falcons
2000: Power
2001: Sky Jammers
2002: Falcons
2003: Falcons
2004: Falcons
2005: Nkumba Marines
2006: Nkumba Marines
2007: Falcons
2008: Power
2009: Warriors
2010: Power
2011: Power
2012: Warriors
2013: City Oilers
2014: City Oilers
2015: City Oilers
2016: City Oilers
2017: City Oilers
2018: City Oilers
2019: City Oilers



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *