UPL: URA Tax Shorthanded Villa In Bombo

Tuesday, January 7
*URA FC 2-0 SC Villa

URA FC beat SC Villa 2-0 in the second round’s opening game of the 2019/20 StarTimes UPL played at Arena of Visions in Bombo.

Daniel Isiagi scored an early goal in the second minute before substitute Michael Birungi doubled the advantage to hand Sam Ssimbwa’s side a deserved win.

The Jogoos missed a couple of players because of licenses – Amir Kakomo, Derrick Ndahiro, Nicholas Kabonge, Gavin Kizito and Charles Lwanga among the players who missing out.

Daniel Isiagi gave host the lead in the second minute of the game, connecting with an header after a good cross from skipper Shafic Kagimu.

Birungi who had replaced Mikidad Ssenyonga, tapped in a Joackim Ojera delivery from the right flank in the 64th minute.

The tax collectors would have scored more but missed plenty of opportunities: Kagimu and Isiagi both fired over the bar from close range.

Saidi Kyeyune also missed a rebounder after Kagimu’s volley was spilled by goalkeeper Saidi Keni and the shot stopper finger-tipped Cromwell Rwothomio header from Kyeyune’s corner kick.

Villa looked the second best on the day, struggled to orchestrate plays and barely threatened going forward.

At 1-0, Fahad Badiro came close to leveling matters twice, including a powerful shot that went inches off the target.

Ronald Magwali had his shot rattle the crossbar with keeper Alionz beaten while forward Ambrose Kirya also came close.

URA FC after their match day 16 will make a short trip to jinja to face BUL FC.

SC Villa, who suffered their third loss to remain on 27 points, will be seeking to bounce back when they welcome Busoga United on matchday 17.

Tax collectors remain sixth on the table with 23 points out of the 16 games played, level on points with Onduparaka who have a superior goal difference.

Team Starters

URA FC: Nafian Alionzi (GK), Ashiraf Mandela, Yeseri Waibi, Benjamin Nyakoojo, Hudu Mulyiki, Julius Mutyaba. Saidi Kyeyune, Shafik Kagimu (C), Joackim Ojera, Mikidadi Ssenyonga, Daniel Isiagi

SC Villa: Saidi Keni(GK), Ibrahim Kibumba, Yayo Lutimba, Moses Kiggundu,Asuman Harishe (C), Emmanuel Wasswa, David Owori, Ambrose Kirya, Emmanuel Kalyowa, Faisal Muwawu, Fahad Badiro



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.