Uganda Cup Draw: Vipers, Kajjansi To Square Off In Entebbe-Road Derby

2015/16 Uganda Cup winners will face off with Regional side Kajjansi United in the 64th round following the draw that was held on Thursday at Serena Hotel.

League leaders Vipers lost to eventual winners Proline FC in last years’ quarter finals and will hope to do better this time round as they keep their dreams of a double alive.

Vipers and Kajjansi have faced off in various practice games including a 0-5 win in September last year; Brian Kalumba (2), Bobos Byaruhanga, Brian Nkuubi and Umar Kyebatala were on target.

Also Read – Kajjansi Draw First Blood Against Katwe

The round of 64 will be played between January 20-26.

Defending Champions Proline FC face Katwe United in a Lugogo derby while KCCA FC and Express FC who have won the title a record 10 times each, face Catida FC and St Mary’s FC (Nabweru) respectively.

Prize Money Increased:

Stanbic Bank, the Cup sponsors, have increased the prize money to a total of Sh132M from 120M for the final 16 clubs with the winner to scoop Sh40M while the beaten finalist will take Sh20M.

The Semifinalist will take Sh12M each, Quarter finalists bag 6M while the round of 16 teams will have 3M each.

Also Read: All Set For Uganda Cup Draw

The draw, saw teams seeded in two pots; Pot A had UPL and 16 Big League teams while Pot B had the 30 Regional clubs and the two bottom teams in the Big league – Rwenzori and Elgon Groups. Pot B teams (weaker in rankings) are playing at home and this has not enabled an all UPL affair.

This year’s Uganda Cup started on December 1 last year with pre-qualifier games taking place across the country in all eight football regions.

Here are the draws in full:

*Spartans FC Vs Paidha Black Angels
*Kampala University Vs Kataka FC
*Bugoigo FC (Buliisa) Vs Wakiso Giants
*Catida FC Vs KCCA FC
*Admin FC (Tororo) Vs Police FC
*Fire Fire FC Vs Light SS
*Kiryandongo Vs Kigezi Homeboys
*Soroti FC Vs Kansai Plascon
*Mbale Garage Vs UPDF FC
*Kajansi United Vs Vipers SC
*St Mary’s FC (Nabweru) Vs Express FC
*Busia Young FC Vs Busoga United
*Six O’clock FC (Bushenyi) Vs Kitara FC
*Super Eagles FC (Villa) Vs SC Villa
*Mvara FC (West Nile) Vs BUL FC
*Koboko Rising Stars (West Nile) Vs Bright Stars
*Kakira United Vs Mbarara City FC
*Star Light FC (North East) Vs Tooro United
*Bugamba FC Vs Onduparaka FC
*Chimpanzee FC (Bundibugyo) Vs Nyamityobora FC
*Gadafi FC Vs MYDA FC
*Luwero United FC Vs Doves All Stars
*Lugazi Municipal FC Vs URA FC
*San Siro FC Vs Kyetume FC
*Kigezi FC Vs Bukedea Town Council
*Young Elephants Vs Maroons FC
*Katwe United Vs Proline FC
*U-Touch FC Vs Water FC
*Free-Stars FC Vs Saviours FC
*Ggaba FC Vs Kiboga Young FC/Mbale Heroes
*FHL (Moyo) Vs Ndejje University
*Dove FC Vs New Villa FC



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *