CECAFA: Uganda Cranes Out For 15th Title

Thursday, December 18
Kenya Vs Tanzania – 1:30PM
Uganda Vs Eritrea – 3:45PM

Uganda Cranes will be seeking to win it’s 15th Council for East and Central Africa Football Assocition (CECAFA) senior challenge title when they face Eritrea in the final on Wednesday at Startimes Stadium, Lugogo.

Uganda has won the touney for a record 14 times – 1973, 1976, 1977, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1996, 2000, 2003, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012 and 2015.

In semi finals played on Tuesday, Uganda defeated Tanzania 1-0 thanks to Fahd Bayo’s late goal to make it five wins from as many games including the four wins of group stages against Somalia, Burundi, Eritrea and Djibout.

Eritrea lost to Uganda 1-2 in their group encounter, have already punched above their weight when they got out of the group and added another shocking win to eliminate defending champions Kenya with an impressive ans deserved 4-1 victory in the semi finals.

However, Uganda Cranes coach seems unmoved with opponents’ last performance

“The players are in good spirit and they looking forward for tomorrow’s game,” cranes coach Johnathan Mckinstry said during the Pre match conference.

“When you qualify for a cup final, its always a positive thing and almost all these boys will be their first cup final for a national team which bring good energy to the team.

“I give credit to Eritrea players and coaching staff for having displayed a remarkable performance throughout the tournament so far, and tomorrow is going to be different game because they are going to give in everything but we are hoping to be the best.”

Mckinstry concluded by calling upon all Ugandan to come and support the future players of Ugandan football.

Team captain Halid Lwaliwa expects a tough game, and he added that his side is hoping to capitalise on a home advantage with a help of a 12th player, which are the supporters.

“Eritrea is a good team, we give them respect but we are having the home advantage, and our team is better and stronger,” commented the Vipers centre back.

Uganda last won the championship in 2015 hosted by Ethiopia under coach Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic then.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.