Airtel FUFA Awards: A Complete List Of All The 2019 Winners

On Saturday, December 14th of December, the Federation of Uganda Football Association (FUFA) awarded winners at the 2019 Airtel FUFA Awards at Speke Resort, Munyonyo.

The event was highly highlighted by the male and female player of the year accolades that were won by KCCA FC’s Allan Okello and Kawempe Muslim’s Juliet Nalukenge respectively.

FUFA Awards Final Three Revealed

Here is a complete list of 2019 Fufa awards winners:

Fans of the Year
Acholi province from the Fufa Drum competition were crowned for having the best fans of the year beating the likes of Lango and west Nile from the same competition, KCCA FC and SC Villa fans were the other nominees.

*FUFA Fans Foreign Based Player
Egypt’s Pyramid FC player Abdul Lumala was the fans foreign based player. Lumala caught eyes of football lovers in the country during the 2019 African cup of nations that were held in Egypt. This, was won by Denis Onyango the previous edition.

*Best Upcoming Talent
SC Villa youngster Gavin Kizito Mugweri who is also the Uganda U20 (Hippos) captain, walked home with the award beating KCCA FC’s academy graduate Sadat Anaku and Bright Stars’ Ssekajja.

*Fufa Fair Play Award
Uganda Revenue Authority (URA) football club was awarded the fair play award after receiving 27 yellow cards and a single red card in the previous season. Maroons FC won the award in 2018.

*Beach soccer player of the year
Sulaiman Ochero won the award on the night taking it from Meddie Kibirige who won it in 2018.

*Women Coach of the Year
Kawempe Muslim FC and under 17 head coach Ayub Khalifa who has been an instrumental figure for the women football grades in Uganda, won the inaugural award on the night after he guided Uganda to their first COSAFA championship beating former Lady Doves’ Olivier Mbekeka.

*Coach of the year
Former Proline FC head coach Shafiq Bisaso won the accolade overseeing Uganda cranes assistant coach Abdallah Mubiru and KCCA FC’s Mike Mutebi who had won the award for the past three consecutive years.

Bisaso guided Proline to their first ever double championship winning the FUFA Big League and also winning the Fufa Big League trophy.

Presidential Award
The late Uganda cranes and SC Villa legend Magid Musisi was awarded with the presidential award just after a day he had marked 14 years ever since he had his last breath.

Former FIFA referee Ali Tomusange, Cranes 1978 goalkeeper Paul Ssali Gogolimbo, Ronnie Kalema aka Blatter and recently Lawrence Mulindwa are the former winners of the award which is given by FUFA president Moses Magogo.

In his words, Magogo who was returning from a sabbatical, had this to say: “He was a great footballer, arguably one of the best Uganda has ever had. when we visited Turkey Magid was more celebrated there than here at home.”

*Female Player of the year

Kawempe Muslim and Uganda crested cranes forward Juliet Nalukenge was crowned the best female player of the year, beating the likes of Hasifah Nassuna who won this award in 2017 and Kampala Queens’ Fauzia Najjemba.

Nalukenge captained Crested Cranes as Uganda won the COSAFA tournament in Mauritius also being the tournament top scorer.

*Male Player of the Year

KCCA FC’s Allan Okello as many expected went home driving a brand new Subaru Forester.

Okello won the Startimes Uganda premier league, CECAFA club cup and the FUFA super cup also being an instrumental figure for KCCA FC.

Airtel FUFA Best Squad – Team of 1978.

FUFA Member Association of the year – Uganda Beach Soccer Association (UBSA)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *