Kipchoge Beats Cheptegei To Retain World Athlete Of The Year Gong

Kenya’s Marathoner Eliud Kipchoge has beaten Uganda’s long dustance runner Joshua Cheptegei and three other athletes to retain the Male Athlete of the year in a glamorous event held on Saturday night in Monaco.

USA’s 400M hurdler Delila Muhammad was named the best female after a tremendous 2019 where she set a world record of 52.20 seconds before bagging gold in Doha with another record of 52.16 seconds.

US’ Muhammad Delila. World Athletics photo

Kipchoge was a big value for the gong after becoming the first man to run a marathon under two hours in a historical Ineos Challenge event held in Vienna, Austria.

The Kenyan had earlier won the London Marathon for a fourth time.

Big Congrats – Kipchoge

Uganda’s Cheptegei also won the World Cross Country championship in Denmark before capping 2019 with 10,000M gold at World Championships in Doha.

USA’s Noah Lyles who won the world 200m and 4X100m titles in Doha, and both 100m and 200m Diamond League titles, Norway’s Karsten Warholm who won the 2019 world championships, Diamond League and European Indoor Championships titles in the 400m hurdles and US’ Pole vaulter Sam Kendricks were on the shortlist as well.

Male final five nominees

List Of Previous Winners:

Male – Carl Lewis (US)
Female – Florence Griffith-Joyner (US)

Male – Roger Kingdom (US)
Female – Ana Fidelia Quirot (Cuba)

Male – Steve Backley (UK)
Female – Merlene Ottey (Jamaica)

Male – Carl Lewis (US)
Female – Katrin Krabbe (Germany)

Male – Kevin Young (US)
Female – Heike Henkel (Germany)

Male – Colin Jackson (UK)
Female – Sally Gunnell (UK)

Male – Noureddine Morceli (Algeria)
Female – Jackie Joyner-Kersee (US)

Male – Jonathan Edwards (UK)
Female – Gwen Torrence (US)

Male – Michael Johnson (US)
Female – Svetlana Masterkova (Russia)

Male – Wilson Kipketer (Denmark)
Female – Marion Jones (US)

Male – Haile Gebrselassie (Ethiopia)
Female – Marion Jones (US)

Male – Michael Johnson (US)
Female – Gabriela Szabo (Romania)

Male – Jan Zelezny (Czech)
Female – Marion Jones (US)

Male – Hicham El Guerrouj (Morocco)
Female – Stacy Dragila (US)

Male – Hicham El Guerrouj (Morocco)
Female – Paula Radcliffe (UK)

Male – Hicham El Guerrouj (Morocco)
Female – Hestrie Cloete (South Africa)

Male – Kenenisa Bekele (Ethiopia)
Female – Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia)

Male – Kenenisa Bekele Ethiopia)
Female – Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia)

Male – Asafa Powell (Jamaica)
Female – Sanya Richards (US)

Male – Tyson Gay (US)
Female – Meseret Defar (Ethiopia)

Male – Usain Bolt (Jamaica)
Female – Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia)

Male – Usain Bolt (Jamaica)
Female – Sanya Richards (US)

Male – David Rudisha (Kenya)
Female – Blanka Vlasic (Croatia)

Male – Usain Bolt (Jamaica)
Female – Sally Pearson (Australia)

Male – Usain Bolt (Jamaica)
Female – Allyson Felix (US)

Male – Usain Bolt (Jamaica)
Female – Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (Jamaica)

Male – Renaud Lavillenie (France)
Female – Valerie Adams (New Zealand)

Male – Ashton Eaton (US)
Female – Genzebe Dibaba (Ethiopia)

Male – Usain Bolt (Jamaica)
Female – Almaz Ayana (Ethiopia)

Male – Mutaz Essa Barshim
Female – Nafissatou Thiam (Belgium)

Male – Eliud Kipchoge (Kenya)
Female – Caterine Ibarg├╝en (Colombia)

Male – Eliud Kipchoge (Kenya)
Female – Dalilah Muhammad (US)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *