2019 CAF Awards: Onyango, Okwi Nominated

Uganda Cranes duo – captain Denis Onyango and striker Emmanuel Okwi – have been nominated for the forthcoming 2019 CAF Awards.

The glamorous ceremony, which will be the 28th edition of the annual awards, will be held next year on January 7, 2020 in Egypt.

Onyango has been nominated twice; African player of the year and The Interclub player of the year. Okwi has also been nominated for the latter, in the CAF awards.

Also Read – Onyango Welcomed As King

Onyango keeps out Sadio Mane’s penalty in AFCON. Courtesy photo

The Interclubs player of the year award – that honours players in CAF Club competitions – has been brought back after it was last held in 2016 when Onyango won it.

Onyango’s Sundowns was eliminated by Wydad Casablanca in the semis while Okwi’s Simba (TZ) then, was bundled out by TP Mazembe at the quarter final stage.

Cranes duo, in the Interclubs award category, will compete with among others Esperance players Anice Badri, Frank Kom and Fousseby Couilibaly. Former Okwi’s teammate at Simba Meddie Kagere (Rwanda) has also been nominated.

Emmanuel Okwi in Simba colours. Courtesy photo

Read – Okwi Leaves Tanzania’s Simba SC

For the African player of the gong, Onyango has a big task to even make the final shortlist against the cream of foreign based players including Premier League’s Mohammed Salah who is the defending Champion, Pierre Aubameyang and favourite Riyad Mahrez.

Ajax’ duo Andre Onana (Cameroon) and Hakim Ziyech (Morocco), PSG’s Idrissa Gana Gueye (Senegal), Milan’s Ismail Bennacer, Napoli’s Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal) and Genk’s Mwana Samatta (TZ) have been nominated as well in the Player of the year category.

Uganda Cranes, despite achieving a straight return to AFCON where they reached knockout for the first time in many years, have failed to receive a nod in the Team of the year category.

Algeria, Madagascar, Nigeria, Senegal and Tunisia are the nations to compete for the team of the year gong.

List on Nominees As Revealed by CAF

African Player of the Year
*Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)
*André Onana (Cameroon & Ajax)
*Baghdad Bounedjah (Algeria& Al-Sadd)
*Carolus Andriamatsinoro (Madagascar & Al Adalah)
*Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
*Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting (Cameroon & Paris Saint-Germain)
*Ferjani Sassi(Tunisia & Zamalek)
*Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax)
*Idrissa Gueye (Senegal & Paris Saint-Germain)
*Ismail Bennacer (Algeria & AC Milan)
*Jordan Ayew (Ghana & Crystal Palace)
*Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)
*Kodjo Fo Doh Laba (Togo & Al Ain)
*Mahmoud Hassan “Trezeguet” (Egypt & Aston Villa)
*Mbwana Samatta (Tanzania & Genk)
*Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
*Moussa Marega (Mali & Porto)
*Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)
*Nicolas Pepe (Côte d’Ivoire & Arsenal)
*Odion Ighalo (Nigeria & Shanghai Shenhua)
*Percy Tau (South Africa & Club Brugge)
*Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)
*Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
*Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
*Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance)
*Thomas Teye Partey (Ghana & Atlético Madrid)
*Victor Osimhen (Nigeria & Lille)
*Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria & Leicester City)
*Wilfried Zaha (Côte d’Ivoire & Crystal Palace)
*Youcef Belaili (Algeria & Ahli Jeddah)

African Interclubs Player of the Year

*Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly)
*Anice Badri (Tunisia & Esperance)
*Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
*Emmanuel Okwi (Uganda & Simba)
*Ferjani Sassi (Tunisia & Zamalek)
*Fousseny Coulibaly (Cote d’Ivoire & Esperance)
*Franck Kom (Cameroon & Esperance)
*Herenilson (Angola & Petro de Luanda)
*Ismail El Haddad (Morocco & Wydad Casablanca)
*Jean Marc Makusu (DR Congo & AS VITA)
*Kodjo Fo Doh Laba (Togo & RS Berkane / Al Ain)
*Mahmoud Alaa (Egypt & Zamalek)
*Meddie Kagere (Rwanda & Simba)
*Meschack Elia (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
*Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance)
*Tarek Hamed (Egypt & Zamalek)
*Themba Zwane (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)
*Trésor Mputu (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
*Walid El Karti (Morocco & Wydad Casablanca)
*Youcef Belaïli (Algeria & Esperance / Ahli Jeddah)

African Men’s Coach of the Year
*Aliou Cisse (Senegal – Senegal)
*Christian Gross (Switzerland – Zamalek)
*Corentin Martins (France – Mauritania)
*Djamel Belmadi (Algeria – Algeria)
*Faouzi Benzarti (Tunisia – Wydad Athletic Club)
*Gernot Rohr (Germany – Nigeria)
*Moïne Chaâbani (Tunisia – Esperance)
*Mounir Jaouani (Morocco – Berkane FC)
*Nicolas Dupuis (France – Madagascar)
*Pitso Mosimane (South Africa – Mamelodi Sundowns)

African Women’s Player of the Year
*Ajara Nchout (Cameroon & Valerenga )
*Ange N’Guessan (Côte d’Ivoire & Tenerife)
*Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)
*Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria & Rivers Angels)
*Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Jiangsu Suning)
*Gabrielle Ouguene (Cameroon & CSKA Moscow)
*Refiloe Jane (South Africa & AC Milan)
*Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Jiangsu Suning)
*Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Beijing Phoenix FC)
*Uchenna Kanu (Nigeria & Southeastern Fire)

African Youth Player of the Year
*Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)
*Amadou Haidara (Mali & RB Leipzig)
*Amadou Sagna (Senegal & Club Brugge)
*Enock Mwepu (Zambia & Red Bull Salzburg)
*Ismaïla Sarr (Senegal & Watford)
*Krépin Diatta (Senegal & Club Brugge)
*Moussa Djenepo (Mali & Southampton)
*Moussa Ndiaye (Senegal & Excellence Foot)
*Musa Barrow (Gambia & Atalanta)
*Osvaldo Pedro Capemba ‘Capita’ (Angola & Primeiro de Agosto)
*Patson Daka (Zambia & Red Bull Salzburg)
*Samuel Chukwueze (Nigeria & Villarreal)
*Sekou Koita (Mali & Red Bull Salzburg)
*Steve Regis Mvoue (Cameroon & AS Azur Star)
*Victor Osimhen (Nigeria & Lille)
*Zito Luvumbo (Angola & Primeiro de Agosto)

African Women’s Coach of the Year
*Alain Djeumfa (Cameroon)
*Bruce Mwape (Zambia)
*Clementine Toure (Côte d’Ivoire)
*Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
*David Ouma (Kenya)
*Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

African Men’s National Team of the Year

African Women’s National Team of the Year
*Côte d’Ivoire
*South Africa



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *