UPL: KCCA Fight Back To Hand Police Eighth Loss

Jackson Nunda wheels away in celebration after scoring against Police. KCCA FC photo

Saturday, November 8
*KCCA 3-2 Police

KCCA FC battled from a goal down on two occasions to beat Police FC 3-2 in a StarTimes UPL encounter at Lugogo.

Substitute Erisa Ssekisambu got the winner while Jackson Nunda who scored a brace, could have made it 4-2 but missed from the spot.

Ben Ocen and Pius Kaggwa were on target for Police FC who led 2-1 at halftime.

This is the third straight win for KCCA in the league after previous victories against Maroons and Onduparaka. The side had lost to Paradou FC in the CAF Confederation after the Maroons game.

The victory sends KCCA to 13 points as Police FC remain on five points, second from the bottom.

KCCA FC will face Express FC on Wednesday while Police host Tooro United.

KCCA FC missed Allan Okello who is injured while Charles Lukwago, John Revita, Nicholas Kasozi and Muzamir Mutyaba are part of Uganda Cranes team that played a regional tour in Katakwi.

Police FC also missed head coach Abdallah Mubiru who doubles as the assistant coach for Jonathan Mckinstry.

Nunda fired to cancel Ocen’s opener after the Police forward had raced through on goal to slot home at the far post.

However, Kaggwa scored into the roof with a beautiful strike as Police regained their lead before the break.

Kaggwa could have doubled the lead but was twice denied by Jamil Maliyamungu while Steven Sserwadda’s back-heeled flip off Muzamir Mutyaba’s cross was finger-tipped out by Davis Mutebi.

Mutyaba Mike paved way for Erisa Ssekisambu while Sadat Anaku came on for Sserwadda as coach Mike Mutebi threw fresh legs upfront.

Anaku almost made an impact but his header off Herbert Achai’s cross rattled the woodwork.

Nunda struck to make it 2-2 off Ssekisambu’s assist before the substitute headed in the winner.

Goalkeeper Mutebi kept the game at 3-2 when he parried out Nunda’s penalty after Ssekisambu was tripped by Sylvester Ssemakula.

Teams Used

KCCA FC – Jamil Maliyamungu, Musa Ramathan, Herbert Achai, Hassan Musana, Samuel Kato, Gift Ali, Keziron Kizito, Jackson Nunda, Steven Sserwadda, Mike Mutyaba, John Odumegwu.

Substitutes – Ali Mwerusi, Filbert Obenchan, Peter Magambo, Eric Ssenjobe, Sadat Anaku, Erisa Ssekisambu.

Police FC – Davis Mutebi, Denis Rukundo, Arafat Galiwango,Pius Kaggwa, Yusuf Ssozi, Ben Ocen, Samuel Kayongo, Henry Kayongo, Fahad Kizito, Sylvester Ssemakula, Hood Kaweesa.

Substitutes – Alfred Ginyera, Joseph Sentume, Mubarak Nsubuga, Musa Matovu, Edward Kiryowa, Tonny Kiwalazi, Herman Wasswa



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *