CAF Confederation: KCCA Fire Blanks In Paradou Draw

Sunday, October 27
*KCCA FC 0-0 Paradou AC

KCCA FC and Paradou played out a goalless draw in a CAF Confederation Cup playoff round first leg tie played at StarTimes Stadium, Lugogo on Sunday.

Mike Mutebi’s troops failed to benefit from their home advantage even with a better second half surge as the Algerian outfits picked a positive result.

The teams will meet again for the return leg in Algiers on November 3 with the winner on aggregate reaching the group stages.

KCCA dug dig in the second half but failed to find a breakthrough with Mike Mutyaba, Allan Okello and Samuel Kato all denied by visitors’ goalkeeper Toufik Moussaoui.

Custodian Lukwago on the other hand, managed to keep KCCA’s chances alive with outstanding saves including keeping out Abdel Kahar Kadri and Yousri Bouzok in a one-on-one situation.

The result leaves KCCA in a big hole facing an uphill task to turn the result in Algeria where at least any goal draw will see them to the groups.

KCCA FC had a slow start as they struggled to maintain possession at a home turf. They looked suspect at the back, playing Hassan Musana and Kato Ramathan in the heart.

Back-from-injury Muzamir started in the middle of the park but failed to find a spark before he was taken off for Sserwadda. Gift Ali also paved way for Sadat Anaku in the other change.

Mutyaba looked to have reignited the game late on and should have made KCCA’s first when he beat towering defender Tarek Bouabta but his final delivery to find a free Nunda was parried away by the keeper.

Mutyaba also had an open chance on the edge of the box but his curled effort was deflected out for a corner and he had a header at close range off Sserwadda’s delivery off the target

Teams Used

KCCA FC XI – Charles Lukwago, Musa Ramathan, Mustafa Kizza, Hassan Musana, Kato Ramathan, Gift Ali, Alan Okello, Nicholas Kasozi, Muzamir Mutyaba, Jackson Nunda, Mike Mutyaba

Paradou FC XI – Toufik Moussaoui, Abdalkader Ghorab, Adem Redjem, Abdelkahar Kadri, Yousri Bougerra, Tarek Bouabta, Hamza Mouali, Ghiles Guenaoui, Adem Zorgane, Mustafa Bouchina, Youcef Douar

Referee – Thulani Sibandze (Eswatini)
Assistants – Sifiso Nxumalo and Petrios Mzikayifani Mbingo (Eswatini)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *