Masaza Cup: Bulemeezi Beat Busiro To Clinch Title

Saturday, October 26
*Third place: Buddu 1-2 Kyadondo
Final: Busiro 0-1 Bulemeezi (AET)

Bulemeezi edged Busiro 1-0 to clinch the prestigious Masaza Cup title in a closely contested final graced by Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi at a slippery Namboole Stadium on Saturday.

The less eventful final ended goalless after 90 minutes before Emmanuel Loki’s header in the extra time (95th) proved the difference.

Bulemeezi coached Simon Mugerwa, eliminated Kyadondo and Kyaggwe in the semis and quarter finals respectively to reach this stage.

The side deified odds, and defended tirelessly against a fearless Bulemeezi attack that had Andrew Kigozi, Ivan Sserubiri and Gerrard Ogwet.

Kigozi proved a menace and troubled Busiro but failed to find a breakthrough against a solid Bulemeezi defence that had the likes of Dirisa Masembe, Masudi Kafumbe, Ronald Ssekiganda.

Bulemeezi’s substitute Hamza Mulambuza shot off the target while John Nakibinge failed to loop past Hadad Mutumba.

This is the second title for Bulemeezi who beat Buwekula 1-0 in the 2012 finals, a year after they had lost by the same scoreline against Buluuli.

In the loser’s match, Kyadondo came from down to stun Buddu 2-1.

Bulemeezi walks away with Sh12M. Busiro settles for Sh9M while Kyadondo and Buddu take Sh7M and Sh5M respectively.

It should be noted that the Masaza Cup are sponsored by Airtel, Centenary Bank among others. Cetenary Bank’s sponsorship is of Sh210M for the last 3 years which is Sh70M yearly according to Ms. Beatrice Lugalambi General Manager Corporate Communication and Marketing at Centenary Bank.

Teams Used:

Busiro XI – Hadad Mutumba, Edward Mubiru, Mathias Wasswa, Brian Kasule, Paul Wasswa, Rogers Adriko, Mikidad Ssenyonga, Ivan Sserubiri, Gerrard Ogwet, Ivan Mayanja, Andrew Kigozi.

Bulemeezi XI – Amir Nalugoda, Rogers Sebyondya, Simon Ssemayange, Godfrey Arijole, Marvin Joseph, Dirisa Masembe, Ronald Ssekiganda, Masudi Kafumbe, Emmanuel Loki, Garu Elagu, John Nakibinge.

Past Winners:

2004 – Gomba 3-0 Mawogola
2005 – Mawokota 4-1 Gomba
2006 – Kooki 2-2 Bugerere [4-2 pen]
2007 – Mawokota bt Gomba
2008 – Kyaddondo 2-0 Gomba
2009 – Gomba 1-1 Mawogola [5-4 pen]
2010 – not held
2011- Buluuli 2-1 Bulemeezi
2012 – Bulemeezi 1-0 Buweekula
2013 – Mawokota 1-0 Ssingo
2014 – Gomba 0-0 Ssingo [[4-3 pen]
2015 – Ssingo 5-0 Buddu
2016 – Buddu 1-1 Gomba [6-5 pen]
2017 – Gomba 1-0 Ssingo
2018 – Ssingo 1-1 Buddu [12-11 pen]
2019 – Busiro 0-1 Bulemeezi



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *