Kyetume FC Unveils Squad, Confident About Survival

Uganda Premier League (UPL) newcomers Kyetume FC are confident about survival after unveiling their squad to compete in the 2019/20 season.

The club, started in 1977 as Kyetume Black Stars with their history tracing back from the days of the defunct Lufula FC, will be playing in top flight for the first time.

They have managed to retain their key players like Captain Vicent Kayizzi, Robert Ssentongo, Patrick Ochan and these will be the team pillars.

Julius Ntambi
Joel Mutakubwa

Notably, they have added a crop of proven stars like Joel Mutakubwa, Sam Ssenkoomi, Isaac Kirabira, Baker Buyala among others.

The club has reportedly finalised the deal to acquire defender Dan Birikwalira on loan from Vipers while Feni Ali may be the latest inclusion.

Coached by George ‘Best’ Nsimbe and David Mutono, the Mukono based side will set the tone when they take on record winners SC Villa on Thursday night at Mandela National Stadium, Namboole.

The Slaughters will seek to take advantage of their underdog status to upset teams this season.

Kyetume FC Chairman Ruben Kagwa

Unveiling the squad and whole working committee in a function held at Jobia Hotel in Mukono on Monday afteenoon, Club chairman Ruben Mubiru Kaggwa claimed that his side has what it takes to compete favourably.

“We have made enough recruitments,” Mubiru said. “Our boys have been well trained and we have put up good structures and all the necessary arrangements to drive us forward.”

“This club has been playing in the Big league for the last three seasons operating on a budget of about Sh250M and we hope to receive more funding.

“We can even finish inside the top five but our first target is to stay in the league and avoid relegation. We just have to be given enough chanc we were semifinalist in Uganda cup and that should speak volumes.”

Kaggwa also revealed that his side has got land from Buganda Kingdom from Nakisunga where they will construct a good stadium.

Confirmed Players At Kyetume FC as seen by this website:

Joel Mutakubwa, Salim Sowed, Martin Otieno

Jonathan Dante Mugabi, Charles Musoke, Philip Lutaya, Benon Tahomera, Julius Ntambi, Steven Sande, Derrick Ochan, Steven Kagada, Sam Ssenkoomi, Emmanuel Obua, Siraje Turyamuhebwa, Samson Mutyaba

Vicent Kayizzi, Denis Lubowa, Patrick Ochan, Deo Isajja, Ibra Kazindula, Julius Lule, Isaac Kirabira, Elekana Nkugwa, Junior Ssali, Anoge Mike, Richard Wulube.

Robert Ssentongo, Sherif Shaka, Sheif Batte, Noel Nasasira, Baker Buyala, Cephas Kambugu, Ali Ngonge, Idris Mbola



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *