Super Eight: URA FC Beat Resolute Wakiso Giants In Penalties

Monday, August 9
Wakiso Giants 2-2 URA FC
*URA win 4-2 on Penalties

URA FC clinched fifth spot after beating Wakiso Giants in a Pilsner Super Eight classification game.

Sam Ssimbwa’s charges needed shootouts to win an intense encounter played at Kabaka Kyabaggu Stadium at Wakissha Resource Centre in Wakiso.

Viane Ssekajugo, who came on in the first half, scored a late equaliser as Wakiso recovered from two down in a 2-2 draw.

In shootouts, Wakiso Giants’ goalkeeper Yasin Mugabi took early bragging rights when he kept out Shafic Kagimu’s penalty but was beaten by Saidi Kyeyune, Baker Mbowa, Brian Majwega and Ntege Anwar.

URA’s Ntege Anwar saved Daff Luboobi before Viane Ssekajugo fluffed his kick over the bar. Hakim Ssenkumba and Hassan Wasswa Dazo scored Wakiso’s penalties.

Entertaining Thriller

Saidi Kyeyune slotted home the opener off Shafic Kagimu’s assist in the second minute of the game.

Shafic Kagimu doubled the advantage from a beautiful freekick to give the tax collectors a cushion at the break.

Wakiso Giants halved the deficit just after the break when Karim Ndugwa benefited from Alionzi’s blunder to bundle home.

Viane Ssekajugo scored in the 93rd minute to send the home fans into wild celebrations.

The Giants missed a penalty in the first half – Ssekajugo was tripped in the box – but Sserunkuma fired his kick over the bar.

URA FC played with hunger right from the start. They had a dominant first stanza and could have scored more.

Hudu Mulikyi went for power but fired over the bar before Yasin Mugabi made an excellent save at his near post from Kagimu’s rocket.

Wakiso’s started to crawl back in the game when Viane Ssekajugo, on his debut came off the bench to replace John Ssegawa.

The former Onduparaka FC player ad his first attempt easily saved by Alionzi Nafian.

He continued to lead the hosts’ surge and won them a penalty – Referee Ivan Kiweewa pointed to the spot when goalkeeper Nafian brought down Ssekajugo in th forbidden area but Sserunkuma shot over the bar.



  1. Shafic Kagimu – saved
  2. Saidi Kyeyune – scores
  3. Baker Mbowa – scores
  4. Brian Majwega – scores
  5. Ntege Anwar – scores

*Wakiso Giants

  1. Daff Luboobi – Saved
  2. Hakim Ssenkumba – scores
  3. Hassan Wasswa Dazo – scores
  4. Viane Ssekajugo – miss

Teams Used:

Wakiso Giants XI
Yasin Mugabi, Ibrahim Kiyemba, Simon Namwanja, Hassan Wasswa Dazo, Fahad Kawooya, Hakim Ssenkumba, John Ssegawa, Duncan Sseninde, Geoffrey Sserunkuma, Karim Ndugwa, Emma Mutebi.

Derrick Emukule, Aggrey Madoi, Alex Komakech, Viane Ssekajugo, Kenneth Madira, Daff Luboobi, Amos Muwonge, Swaib Mudde

Alionzi Nafian, Benjamin Nyakoojo, Yesseri Waibi, Ashraf Mandela, Patrick Mbowa, Saidi Kyeyune, Brian Majwega, Shafic Kagimu, Mikidad Ssenyonga, Crowmwel Rwothomio, Hudu Mulikyi

James Alitho, Julius Mutyaba, Ivan Ntege, Ivan Sserubiri, Anwar Ntege, Moses Sseruyide, Ronald Kigongo



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *