UPL: KCCA Start Title Defense At Home, Fixtures Released

Opening Fixture

Thursday, August 29
*Kyetume FC Vs SC Villa – 8PM (TV)

Friday, August 30
*URA FC Vs Maroons (TV)
*Bright Stars Vs Vipers
*BUL FC Vs Express
*Onduparaka FC vs Police FC

Saturday, August 31
*Tooro United Vs Busoga
*KCCA FC Vs Wakiso (TV)
*Mbarara City Vs Proline FC

Defending Champions KCCA FC will start their title defence at home against 2018/19 Big league runners up Wakiso Giants FC at StarTimes Stadium Lugogo.

Mike Mutebi’s charges will be going out for their 14th league crown.

The league will officially kickoff on Thursday, August 29 with Kyetume FC playing host to SC Villa at Mandela National Stadium in a night game.

First round will end on November 17, 2019.

Notably, the league will kickoff with only seven stadia approved to host games. Also, nine night games will beheld, all at Namboole, in the first round.

“We want to have one of the best leagues in Africa, but there are challenges that we have faced including the teams’ failure to meet licensing requirements in time,” said UPL chairman Bernard Bainamani.

“We hope to do our best but this is not going to be our load alone, it has to be a combined effort from the stakeholders including the fans. We expect everyone to work with us with a common goal.”

Express FC will visit BUL FC at Njeru while Vipers face Bright Stars away at Wankulukuku. URA FC will be at home against Maroons, Mbarara will host big league champions Proline in Luzira while Busoga United started away to Tooro United in Wankulukuku on August 31. Onduparaka will use Luzira against Abdallah Mubiru’s Police FC.

Last Season’s Top Six

  1. KCCA FC – 66 points
  2. Vipers SC – 59
  3. URA FC – 51
  4. Tooro United – 49
  5. Mbarara City FC – 46
  6. Onduparaka FC – 45

The Seven Stadia:

  1. Mandela National Stadium (Namboole) – SC Villa, URA FC, Kyetume FC.
  2. StarTimes Stadium (Lugogo) – KCCA FC, Proline FC
  3. Luzira Prisons Ground (Luzira) – Maroons, Mbarara City, Onduparaka FC
  4. Betway Muteesa II Stadium (Wankulukuku) – Express FC, Bright Stars, Tooro United
  5. Kabaka Kyabaggu Sports Stadium (Wakissha) – Wakiso Giants, Police FC
  6. St Mary’s Stadium (Kitende) – Vipers
  7. FUFA Technical Centre (Njeru) – BUL FC, Kirinya Jinja



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *