Roke 7s: Betway Kobs Clinch Jinja Sevens To Near Championship

Saturday, August 10
*Finals: Betway Kobs 28-19 Black Pirates

Betway Kobs beat Pirates 28-19 to win the Jinja Sevens in the Roke Telkom National Rugby Sevens at the Dam Waters, Jinja.

Two tries from Adrian Kasito and one each from Pius Ogena and Norbert Okeny gave the Betway sponsored team a deserved victory despite commendable efforts from Pirates whose tries came from Ivan Magomu (2) and William Mucunguzi.

Both sides reached the finals without conceding a single try!

Pirates (in the background) are the defending champions but Kobs had won it three years in a row. URU

Kobs beat Rhinos and Hippos in the quarters and semis respectively to storm the finals, while Pirates had dispatched Buffaloes and Rams in that order.

The victory, is the fourth for Kobs with one circuit remaining on the National calendar after Mbale 7s wasn’t played.

Kobs lead the log with 126 points, six above second placed Pirates on 120.

With the Edward Kitaka Memorial circuit at legends on August 24, Kobs will be crowned champions if they finish at least third in case Pirates win.

It should be noted that Kobs have won four circuits against Pirates’ two.

Kobs won the Buffaloes 7s at Kyadondo, Henry Rujumba Memorial at Kings Park, Mileke 7s at Legends and the concluded Jinja 7s.

Pirates won the Buddu (Masaka) and Coronation 7s.

The Results after groups

Pirates 05-00 Buffaloes
Kobs 36-00 Rhinos
Hippos 19-00 Impis
Rams 07-05 Mongers

Pirates 17-00 Rams
Kobs 31-00 Hippos

Kobs 28-19 Pirates

*Kobs team list in Jinja
Alhaji Manano, Jude Jjuko, Pius Ogena, Edgar Sseruwagi, James Ijongat, Faraji Odugo, Conrad Mukwaya, Joseph Aredo, Arinaitwe Karim, Mark Osuno, Ian Munyani, Norbert Okeny, Adrian Kasito.

Pirates team list in Jinja:
Isaac Massa, William Mucunguzi, Richard Odokere, Ivan Cadri, Kenneth Obito, Kelvin Balagadde, Mohammed Haruna, Timothy Kisiga, Raymond Emanzi, Ivan Magomu, Joshua Engwau Amuno, William Nkore, Pius Mwanje

The Leaderboard

  1. Betway Kobs – 126
  2. Black Pirates – 120
  3. Buffaloes – 85
  4. Hima Heathens – 84
  5. Jinja Hippos – 78
  6. Mongers – 67
  7. Dusu Pay Warriors – 62
  8. Impis – 61
  9. Rams – 59
  10. Rimula Rhinos – 46



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *