Rugby World Cup Qualifiers: Lady Cranes Target Positive Start


August 9
*Madagascar vs Kenya
*South Africa vs Uganda

August 13
Kenya vs Uganda
Madagascar vs South Africa

August 17
*Madagascar vs Uganda
*South Africa vs Kenya

Uganda’s Women Rugby 15s team will seek for a positive start at the Rugby Africa Cup.

The tourney that will double as the qualifiers for the 2021 Women Rugby cup, starts on Friday before ending on August 17, 2019.

Four teams – Uganda, Kenya, South Africa and Madagascar – will battle for a ticket to the 2021 world event, which will be the 21st edition of the World cup, to be held in New Zealand.

Uganda’s last piece of action was a 79-19 aggregate loss to Kenya in the Elgon Cup.

The side opens up with hosts South Africa at the Bosman Stadium in Johannesburg.

To reach this stage, the four fifteens teams were chosen on the basis of the level and frequency of play of the female players given that there isn’t yet an established African ranking for women’s fifteen-a-side rugby.

The format:

Each team will play 3 matches on three different days and a points classification will be established. The winner of the tournament will qualify directly for the World Cup whilst the second best team will play a match against a team from South America and join the global repechage tournament if victorious.

Lady Rugby Cranes Squad:

Faith Namugga Nakato, Irene Nzige, Evelyn Atweku, Christine Nkayiza

Yvonne Najjuma, Peace Mirembe

Charity Atimango, Helen Gizamba, Teddy Lwutung

Beatrice Atim Lumunu, Winnie Atyang (captain), Mary Gloria Ayot, Loy Mbabazi

Half backs
Harriet Kayojo, Claire Anena, Rosenburg Kanyonyozi, Christine Nakamya

Asha Nakity nambulime, Peace Lekuru

Julie Nandawula, Joan andika, Emmanuella oroma, Agnes nakuya, Saamiya ayikuro, Tino Esther, Mary Koita



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *