Super Eight: Okello, Anaku Lift KCCA Past Wakiso Giants

Tuesday, August 6
*Wakiso Giants 0-2 KCCA FC

KCCA FC managed to overcome newly promoted Wakiso Giants to reach the semifinals of the 2019 Pilsner Super Eight.

Allan Okello and Sadat Anaku were on target to give the defending champions a deserved win at Wakisha Resource centre in a game watched by a commendable crowd.

Okello struck in the 38th minute when Mike Mutyaba passed the ball in his way for the teenager to slot home.

Youngster Sadat Anaku who had missed plenty of chances, doubled the advantage in the closing stages when he beat Yasin Mugabi from Patrick Kaddu’s pass to score in an empty net.

The difference could have been worse for the hosts but goalkeeper Mugabi pulled various saves to deny Mike Mutebi’s charges.

KCCA FC joins Vipers, Onduparaka and Mbarara City FC to complete the semi-finals hurdle.

Wakiso Impress, But More Work To Be Done

Wakiso played decently but failed to penetrate through a tight KCCA defence even with the introduction of Ivan ‘Kaloolo’ Kiweewa.

Wakiso Giants was at the receiving end – Saddam Juma fired to to force Mugabi into a reflex save, Achai and Allan Okello also shot direct at the goalkeeper.

Action between KCCA FC and Wakiso. Wakiso media

Muwadda Kateregga took the first shot on target for the hosts before the break but it proved too weak to beat Jamil Maliyamungu.

Duncan Sseninde, on loan from Vipers, had his freekick drop over the bar as Wakiso tried to fight back in the second half.

Teams Used

Wakiso Giants

Yasin Mugabi, Muwadde Kateregga, Simon Namwanja, Ibrahim Kiyemba, Fahad Kawooya, Hakim Ssenkumba, Ivan Ssebuguzi, Hassan Ssenyonjo, Karim Ndugwa, Duncan Sseninde, Muwadda Mawejje

Derrick Emukule, Aggrey Madoi, Ivan Kiweewa, Yasin Mugume, Amos Muwonge, Alex Komakech, Kenneth Madira, Hassan Wasswa, Emmanuel Mutebi

Jamal Maliyamungu, Samuel Kato, Filbert Obenchan, Mustafa Kiiza, Peter Magambo, Allan Okello, Nicholas Kasozi, Herbert Achai, Saddam Juma, Sadat Anaku, Mike Mutyaba.

Charles Lukwago, Eric Ssenjobe, Erisa Ssekisambu, Patrick Kaddu, Hassan Musana, Lawrence Bukenya, Muzamir Mutyaba.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *