Rewind: When KCCA FC Won The CECAFA Cup In 1978

Sunday, 21
*KCCA FC Vs Azam Fc

KCCA FC will bank on their 1978 CECAFA Kagame Cup success when they take on defending champions Azam FC in Sunday’s finals.

It’s should also be remembered that KCCA FC beat Azam FC in this year’s group stages 1-0 thanks to teenager Sadat Anaku’s 49th minute strike.

Mike Mutebi’s charges will hope to exorcise their 1978 demons for a perfect triumph in Rwanda.

Coached by Bidandi Ssali then, they beat Zanzibar’s KMKM 2-1, and drew 2-2 with Somalia’s Horseed.

They went on to eject defending champions then Luo Union 3-0 in a semi-final to storm the finals.

KCCA FC, KCC then, went on to win the trophy, beating Simba of Tanzania on penalties (3-2) after a barren draw 0-0 in normal play and extra time in game watched by President Idi Amin Dada at Nakivubo.

Philip Omondi, Moses Sentamu and Tom Lwanga converted their spot kicks as KCC become the first Uganda club to win the regional tourney.

1978 KCC FC starting XI

Jamil Kasirye (Gk), Angelo Dotte, Sam Musenze(C), Tom Lwanga, Jimmy Kirunda, Moses Nsereko, PeterMazinga, Chris Dungu, Hassan Biruma (Father to Hassan Wasswa), Moses sentamu, Phillip Omondi, Bedford Kizito

Manager: Jaberi Bidandi Ssali



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *