Zone Five Championship: Gazelles, Silverbacks Squads Revealed

The Federation of Uganda Basketball Associations (FUBA) has on Thursday morning, revealed the National teams (Silverbacks and Gazelles) squads.

The teams are set to take part in the preliminaries of the AfroCAN and AfroBasket WOMEN which will be held from June 26 to July 1, 2019 in Kampala.

This competition is qualifying for the 01st Africa Nations Cup for Men (AfroCAN) and for the 26th Africa Nations Championships for Women (AfroBasket Women 2019).

Silverbacks Coach George Galanopoulos. Hamala

Both the Silverbacks and Gazelles will start non-residential training at the Arena in Lugogo this afternoon and will continue with the preparations under the watch of the coaches in charge of the two sides. At a later date the teams will move to a residential camp to have them more focused and prepared for the competition.

“Our only goal is to qualify for both AfroCan and AfroBasket. Nothing less, is acceptable”, said Haji Mohammed Santur, The National team manager.

This championship is the zone nations championship for senior men and women category and our national teams will face competition from participating nations in the Zone 5 category which include; Burundi, Egypt, Rwanda, Kenya, Tanzania, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Eritrea and Ethiopia.

Gazelles Assistant Coach – Ali Mavita

The Ugandan sides need to be placed first at the end of the championship to qualify for the 01st AfroCAN 2019 (Men) due in Mali 16th-28th July 2019 and 26th AfroBasket Women 2019 (To be determined, August).

“Our primary goal is to qualify for the next round and we are going to take it day by day during our training camp to make sure that we achieve ultimate goal”, said Coach George Galanopoulos, Head Coach of the Silverbacks

GuardsJosh Johnson (City Oilers), Tonny Drilleba (City Oilers), Jimmy Enabu (City Oilers), Syrus Kiviiri (Betway Power), Robinson Odoch (City Oilers), Mark Opiyo (Kyambogo Warriors)

Steven Omony (City Oilers), Joseph Ikong (Betway Power), David Deng Kongor (UCU Canons)

John Deng Geu (North Dakota State, USA), James Okello (City Oilers), Geoffrey Soro (Betway Power), Brandon Davies (Zelgris Kaunas, Lithuania), Stanley Mugerwa (Warriors), Daniel Manoja (JKL Dolphins), Ivan Lumanyika (JKL Dolphins).

2. Women
Guards – Flavia Oketcho (JKL), Judith Nansobya (KCCA), Rita Imanishimwe (JKL), Brenda Ekone (Nkumba Lady Marines).

Forwards – Jamila Nansikombi (JKL), Zainah Lokwameri (UCU Lady Canons), Sarah Ageno (UCU Lady Canons), Priscilla Abbei (UCU Lady Canons),

Bigs – Claire Lamunu (Kouvottari. Finland), Hope Akello (JKL), Martha Soigi (KCCA Leopards), Urysla Cotton Kelenza (USA)

Men – George Galanopoulos and Mande Juruni
Women – Nicholas Natuhereza and Ali Mavita



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *