Zone Five: What We Know So Far About Gazelles, Silverbacks’ Squads

Uganda is set to host the FIBA Africa Zone Five Basketball qualifiers set for June 26 to July 1 in Kampala.

This Thursday, June 14 Uganda will reveal their Silverbacks and Gazelles squads for the upcoming tourney in a press briefing.

For the men, forward Deng Geu has been summoned, this website has learnt.

Silverbacks team last year in preps for World Cup Qualifiers

Deng Geu, recently left North Dakota State University and picked North Texas for his final year of eligibility.

Deng Geu (9). FIBA

The forward got his first Silverbacks call up last year for the second round of the 2019 FIBA Basketball World Cup qualifiers in Lagos Nigeria.

He also played in Molten Cup held in Turkey, a tourney Uganda used to fine tune the team prior to the World Cup Qualifiers held in June last year.

Robinson Opong has also been named. He has played for City Oilers at the Continental level and has been a regular member for the Silverbacks on many engagements.

Daniel ‘Dudus’ Monoja is the surprise inclusion after having a wonderful spell that has seen him average 13 points and nine rebounds with JKL Dolphins since joining from Our Saviour. Dudus is expected to be joined by teammate Ivan Lumanyika but his place is in doubt because of an injured knee.

Betway Power’s Geoffrey Soro has also made the cut, according to the sources. He is the third Power player on the team – Syrus Kiviiri and Joseph Ikong are the others.

City Oilers players Jimmy Enabu, Stephen Omony and James Okello are also on team together with Warriors’ duo Stanley Mugerwa and Mark Okidi Opiyo.

UCU’s David ‘Dikong’ Deng is rumoured to be part of the team that will be revealed on Thursday.

The Women team has Finland based Claire Lamunu and there are plans to naturalise a not known Cotton Kelenza to boost the squad.

All the players that were part of the Gazelles team that played a friendly with Kenya have been summoned.

L-R: Lamunu, Imanishimwe, Ageno, Zama and coach Natuhereza

These include Flavia Oketcho (JKL), Sylvia Nakazibwe (KCCA), Rita Imanishimwe (JKL), Ekon Brenda (Nkumba), Judith Nansobya (KCCA), Jamila Nansikombi (JKL), Zainah Lokwameri (UCU), Sarah Ageno (UCU), Hope Akello (JKL) and Martha Soigi (KCCA).

JKL’s Namuwaya Muhayimuna and UCU’s rising star Abbei Priscilla have also made the cut.

The Men’s team will be under George Galanopoulos and Mande Juruni while Nicholas Natuhereza and Ali Mavita will take charge of the Gazelles.

The Zone Five tourney is set to attract countries like Egypt, Rwanda, Kenya, Tanzania, Somalia Ethiopia and South Sudan.

The Men’s category will act as a regional qualifier for the inaugural FIBA AfroCan tournament which will be hosted by Mali.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *