Cricket T20 Africa: Uganda Face Botswana, Day One Games Washed Out

Monday, May 20
*Ghana Vs Namibia, 9:30 AM – Lugogo
*Kenya Vs Nigeria, 9:30 AM – Kyambogo
*Uganda Vs Botswana, 1:50 PM – Lugogo

Cricket is a game that is hugely affected by weather and that came to the fore as the opening games of the ICC T20 World Cup Africa Final qualifying tournament was washed out due to rain.

Frustrating the six teams, the rain which started earlier before dawn, washed out the entire day one fixtures.

The morning openers at both Lugogo and Kyambogo ovals were called and there was some hope that Uganda’s after lunch derby tie with Kenya will bowl off.

The groundsmen at Lugogo tried out their tricks but the officials could later declare the surface unplayable before a single ball being bowled.

”Unfortunately due to the heavy night rain we were not able to get the grounds up to the standard international for any play to happen, noted Denis Musali of Cricket Uganda while approached by this website.

“Our men are working very hard to ensure that tomorrow the grounds are in good shape and fit for play. The games that were not played today will be played on Wednesday which had been scheduled to be a rest day.”

The six teams will be contesting for one of two spots that are available for further qualification to the Global Qualifiers, which will be held in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) in October/November 2019.

Botswana bea Namibia by three wickets in their regional qualifiers and are expected to give the Cricket Cranes a hard time. The side will be led by Captain Karabo Mothlanka and Kenyan Coach Joseph Angara.

The Squads

Roger Mukasa (capt), Hamu Kayondo,Arnold Otwani, Riazat Shah, Dinesh Nakrani, Deus Muhumuza, Frank Nsubuga, Charles Waiswa, Henry Ssenyondo, Emmanuel Isaneez, Zephaniah Arinaitwe, Fred Achelam, Brian Masaba, Rogers Olipa.

Karabo Mothlanka (capt), Thatayaone Tshose, Adithya Rangaswamy, Tshepo Phaswana, Tharindu Perera, Mmoloki Mooketsi, Karabo Modise, Mohmednabil Master, Inzimamul Master, Vinoo Balakrishnan, Dhruv Maisuria, James Moses, Reginald Nehonde, Zain Abassi



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *