Uganda Cranes: Desabre Names Squad For AFCON, COSAFA

Uganda Cranes coach has Sebastien Desabre has summoned the two squads for the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations and COSAFA.

Uganda qualified to play in AFCON which is set in June in Egypt and are in group A alongside the hosts, DR Congo and Zimbabwe.

The summoned AFCON squad is a provisional with locally based players. However, Daniel Isiagi, Bevis Mugabi and Khalid Aucho have also been added to the squad after their seasons ended.

Desabre (white) in training with Cranes. FUFA

Hassan Wasswa and Godfrey Walusimbi who are unattached, have also been named.

The AFCON squad will camp at Kabira country club for residential training, starting May 13, FUFA has confirmed.

Desabre will then select some players for the 26 man squad for further training in UAE to join the foreign based contingent.

Uganda to take part in COSAFA Tournament

Uganda Cranes have been invited to take part in COSAFA in South Africa. The tourney will start on 25th May to 8th June, where Uganda will start at Quarterfinals stage.

Uganda Cranes COSAFA Squad starts training on 15th May at StarTimes Stadium, Lugogo.

It should be noted that some players on the AFCON team who may not have joined the final squad to go to UAE will join the COSAFA team.

L-R: Okwi, Awany and Taddeo. FUFA

AFCON Preliminary Squad:

Goalkeepers: Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC), James Alitho (URA FC),

Defenders: Bevis Mugabi (Yeovil Town FC), Brian Majwega (Maroons FC), Godfrey Walusimbi (Unattached), Awany Timothy (KCCA FC), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC), Mujuzi Mustafa (Proline FC)

Midfielders: Khalid Aucho (Churchill Brothers), Hassan Wasswa (unattached), Ibrahim Sadam Juma (KCCA FC), Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC), Allan Okello (KCCA FC), Moses Waiswa (Vipers SC)

Forwards: Daniel Isiagi (Al Nassr FC- Egypt), Allan Kyambadde (KCCA FC), Juma Balinya (Police FC), Patrick Kaddu (KCCA FC), Joel Madondo (Kirinya Jinja)


Goalkeeper: Said Keni (SC Villa)

Defenders: Isaac Isinde (Kirinya Jinja), Paul Willa (Police), Mustafa Kizza (KCCA FC), John Revita (Express FC), Paul Baker Mbowa (URA FC), Hassan Musana (KCCA FC), Filbert Obenchan (KCCA FC)

Midfielders: Ivan Eyam (Mbarara City), David Owori (SC Villa), Bright Anukani (Proline FC), Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA FC), Shafic Kagimu (URA FC), Kasozi Nicholas (KCCA FC), Allan Kayiwa (Tooro United FC).

Forwards: Daniel Serunkuma (Vipers SC), Bashir Mutanda (SC Villa), Paul Mucuurezi (Mbarara City FC), Nelson Senkatuka (Brights Stars), Michael Birungi (Express FC)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *