Uganda Cup: Proline’s Young Guns Earn Advantage Over Kyetume’s Veterans

Monday, April 29
Kyetume FC 1-2 Proline FC
(Nakisunga grounds)

Proline FC are on the verge of reaching their first Stanbic Uganda Cup final after edging Kyetume FC at Nakisunga Ssaza grounds in Mukono.

The battle that between two big league sides saw Shafic Bisaso’s charges win 2-1 in the first leg of the semifinals.

Ibrahim Bonyo was put through by Ibrahim Wamanah before slotting home an opener in the 24th minute.

Mustafa Mujuzi doubled the advantage from a beautiful freekick to leave Goalkeeper Ismail Zziwa rooted on his line in the second half.

Elkanah Ndugwa caught Proline’s defence flat footed with a chip that found Robert Ssentongo in a good position to bundle home past a helpless Hassan Matovu.

“It’s a big win for us,” started Proline’s coach Shafic Bisaso. “We benefited from the little we know about our opponents but it is not yet over. There are still 90 minutes away.”

Despite taking a 2-0 comfortable lead, Kyetume’s veterans – Vincent Kayizi, Patrick Ochan, Robert Ssentongo and Elkana Ndugwa – kept pressing but Proline’s kids managed to hold on for a win.

Proline who eliminated Vipers will have goalkeeper Hassan Matovu to thank after the KCCA FC loanee kept out three rocket freekicks from Benon Tahomera.

Towering striker Faisaam Malango also headed out Robert Ssentongo’s lofty delivery.

Proline could have sealed it there and then but Bonyo who was freed by substotite Bright Anukani, fluffed his keeper-to-beat attempt over the bar.

What next for both sides?

Proline FC face Kansai Plascon in a Big league encounter on Thursday at Lugogo with a victory to guarantee their Promotion to Premier League as Kyetume will face Nebbi Central the same day.

The teams will face off on Sunday, May 5 at Lugogo for a return leg.

Teams Used

Kyetume FC
Ismail Zziwa, Philemon Lwasa, Benon Tahomera, Moses Magulu, Julius Lule, Deo Isewa, Vincent Kayizi, Patrick Ochan, Denis Lubowa, Faisam Malango, Robert Ssentongo.

Proline FC
Hassan Matovu, James Begisa, Richard Ajuna Noordin Bunjo, Ibrahim Ssendi, Mustafa Mujuzi, Arnold Sserunjoji, Sam Kintu, Joseph Mandela, Ibrahim Wammanah, Ibrahim Bonyo



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *