Uganda To Host AfroBasket Women 2019 Zone Five Qualifiers

Basketball governing body in Africa, FIBA Africa, has confirmed Uganda as the host for Women AfroBasket Zone Five 2019 qualifiers.

These, are the qualifiers for the upcoming 2019 AfroBasket Women Championship later this year.

The last event was held in Cairo, Egypt in 2017 where the hosts, Uganda and Rwanda took part.

Counties expected to arrive in Uganda ahead of the zone five qualifiers include Burundi, Egypt, Eritrea, Kenya, Rwanda, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan and Tanzania.

The tourney, scheduled for June 26 to July 1st 2019, is expected to be held at MTN Indoor Arena in Lugogo, Kampala.

Uganda will seek to take top spot to seal its place at the 2019 AfroBasket Women which will be a first step for the qualification for FIBA Africa for the women’s basketball tournament at the 2020 Summer Olympics in Tokyo, Japan.

The last time Uganda hosted the Zone Five National Championship was in September 21 to September 28 2014. The side also hosted the Zone five club championship in 2017.

Rwanda on the other hand, has been given the rights to host the Zone V U16 championship for boys and girls set for June 10-15, 2019.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *