UCU Lady Canons: Five New Signings To Fill Big Void

Since 2015, UCU Lady Canons had won three league titles in a row until this was put on a halt last season by JKL Lady Dolphins who swept the Christian University in the finals to win their first title on a third attempt.

The record joint league winners, on seven titles with the defunct Lady Bucks, are expected to come stronger this season to reclaim what they think is theirs.

However, the team coached by Nicholas Natuhereza and Emma Kiguyi, face a huge mountain to climb without some of their players who left the University.

Missing in Action: Micomyiza (down) is a major absentee. FUBA photo

Team captain Vilma Achieng after completing her Bachelors in Education left. Point guard Rosine Micomyiza returned to Rwanda, Arach Proscovia joined Javon Ladies and Maureen Sizya is another player who also left.

The club has added Abbey Priscilla Sheilah from A1 Challenge, former Buddo SS student Nanvubya Shakirah who featured for Magic Stormers last season and Letaru Ruth from Javon Ladies Phenoms to fill the big boots – of course indirectly.

Shakira Nanvubya joins UCU from Magic Stormers

Maria Oswin Komba who was part of YMCA Lady Hamstars team that earned promotion from lower division and Nambasa Hanisha from St Mary’s Kitende are the other additions.

UCU Lady Canons will begin their title quest against YMCA Lady Hamstars on April 13 at MTN Arena Lugogo before facing JKL Lady Dolphins on April 19.

Last meal: Arach (right) and Rosine (middle) have left the University. Zainah (left) will carry the burden.

Natuhereza will rely on stars Zainah Lokwameri, Rose Akon, Sarah Ageno and Rhoda Naggita for better results.

Past Winners:
2018 – JKL Lady Dolphins
2017 – UCU Lady Canons
2016 – UCU Lady Canons
2015 – UCU Lady Canons
2014 – KCCA Leopards
2013 – UCU Lady Canons
2012 – KCCA Leopards
2011 – UCU Lady Canons
2010 – UCU Lady Canons
2009 – KCCA Leopards
2008 – UCU Lady Canons
2007 – KCCA Leopards
2006 – Lady Bucks
2005 – A1 Challenge
2004 – Lady Bucks
2003 – Makerere Sparks
2002 – Lady Bucks
2001 – Lady Bucks
2000 – Lady Bucks
1999 – Lady Bucks
1998 – Lady Bucks



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *